Honor from troopers association

State Rep. Carolyn Logan presents a check to Heather Montgomery on behalf of the American Association of State Troopers in memory of her husband, Brent Montgomery, who died on March 15. Participating in the ceremony are (left to right) State Highway Patrol Trooper Anthony Lamancusa, Logan, Montgomery, State Highway Patrol Sgt. Darby Guy and state Rep. Terry Garrison.

HENDERSON — Brent Montgomery was remembered in a ceremony on Tuesday in which his widow, Heather, received condolences and a check from the American Association of State Troopers.

The award was made by state Rep. Carolyn Logan, D-Mecklenburg, on behalf of the association.

Also participating in the ceremony were State Highway Patrol Trooper Anthony Lamancusa, Sgt. Darby Guy and state Rep. Terry Garrison, D-Vance.

In a letter addressed to Heather Montgomery, AAST President Keith Barbier wrote: “Dear Mrs. Montgomery: On behalf of the Board of Directors of the American Association of State Troopers (AAST), please accept our condolences on the loss of your husband Brent. All the members of our Association share in your loss and our thoughts and prayers are with you at this difficult time. Enclosed is a contribution of brotherhood assistance for you in memory of Brent.”

Logan can identify with the purpose of the ceremony. She served 30 years with the State Highway Patrol before she retired and before she became a state legislator. During that time, she was the AAST representative in North Carolina.

Logan said she followed Trooper Montgomery’s struggle with COVID-12 and prayed for him.

“When I learned that they were going to send a check to her, I asked Rep. Garrison to set up a meeting, since it was in his district,” Logan said.

Montgomery died on March 15 after a valiant struggle against the COVID-19 virus. In addition to his wife, Heather, he is survived by a daughter and two sons.

Brent was a Master Trooper in the North Carolina State Highway Patrol, serving with Troop C, in District 4, which covers Vance, Warren and Franklin counties.