Dozen Eagles earn all-league honors

Dec. 05, 2012 @ 02:16 AM

A dozen Warren County athletes earned All-Northern Carolina Conference fall sports honors.
Of the 12, six were football players. George Burnett, Brandon Hargrove and Devonte Hargrove were each named to the first team for football. Clyde Jones, John Sidberry and Ronald Kennerly were selected as honorable mention.
Bunn’s Tarik Cohen was the league MVP while Corinth Holders’ Kenneth Collins was named Offensive Player of the Year and Nazair Jones of Roanoke Rapids earned Defensive Player of the Year honors.
Bunn’s Justin Williams was Lineman of the Year and Bunn’s Chris Miller was Coach of the Year.
Dontravious Harrison was Warren County’s lone representative on the soccer first team. Darian Sellers and Cory Sondgeroth were honorable mention selections.
The soccer Player of the Year went to Franklinton’s Jared Miller and Corinth Holders’ Brent Walston was Coach of the Year.
Brittany Harmon, Courtney Macklin and Danielle Shearin were each named honorable mention volleyball players for the Eagles.
The volleyball Player of the Year was Bunn’s Tainasha Vines. The Coach of the Year was Caitlin Withers of Franklinton.