No. 1 Seminoles headline all-ACC football teams; Duke second with 11 selections

Dec. 02, 2013 @ 08:43 PM

Quarterback Jameis Winston is among 17 players from top-ranked Florida State to make one of the all-Atlantic Coast Conference football teams.

Seven Seminoles made the first team in voting results released Monday by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. They were: Winston, running back Devonta Freeman, receiver Rashad Greene, offensive tackle Cameron Erving, offensive guard Tre' Jackson, center Bryan Stork and cornerback Lamarcus Joyner.

FSU (12-0) will play in this week's ACC championship game against No. 20 Duke, which was second with 11 all-conference picks. No. 13 Clemson had 10 selections, including last year's ACC player of the year Tajh Boyd being selected as second-team quarterback.

Boston College's Andre Williams, the nation's leading rusher with an ACC single-season record 2,102 yards, was the only unanimous first-team selection on all 65 ballots.

Florida State, which has the inside track to the BCS championship game, had six second-team picks and four third-team selections.

Duke had four first-team picks with receiver Jamison Crowder, linebacker Kelby Brown, cornerback Ross Cockrell and safety Jeremy Cash. That group helped the Blue Devils (10-2) secure the Coastal Division championship and the program's first 10-win season.

Crowder, the league's receptions leader, was the only player selected at multiple positions. He made the second team as a specialist after returning a pair of punts for touchdowns.

North Carolina also had four first-team picks in tight end Eric Ebron, offensive tackle James Hurst, defensive end Kareem Martin and specialist Ryan Switzer — a freshman who tied the ACC single-season record with four punt return touchdowns.

Boston College, Clemson and Miami were the only other teams to have multiple first-team picks, including Tigers star receiver Sammy Watkins.

New ACC members Pittsburgh and Syracuse combined for seven picks, though Pitt defensive tackle Aaron Donald was the only first-teamer.

Maryland and North Carolina State were the only two schools that didn't have an all-ACC pick. Maryland is leaving for the Big Ten next year, while N.C. State went 0-8 in league play for the first time.

This was the first time ACSMA selected a first, second and third team for all-ACC honors.



QB_Jameis Winston, Florida State (191)

RB_Andre Williams, Boston College (195)(asterisk)(asterisk)

RB_Devonta Freeman, Florida State (126)

WR_Sammy Watkins, Clemson (191)

WR_Jamison Crowder, Duke (172)

WR_Rashad Greene, Florida State (126)

TE_Eric Ebron, North Carolina (178)

OT_Cameron Erving, Florida State (148)

OT_James Hurst, North Carolina (118)

OG_Tre' Jackson, Florida State (160)

OG_Shaq Mason, Georgia Tech (96)

C_Bryan Stork, Florida State (181)


DE_Vic Beasley, Clemson (161)

DE_Kareem Martin, North Carolina (159)

DT_Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh (171)

DT_Nikita Whitlock, Wake Forest (156)

LB_Kelby Brown, Duke (146)

LB_Denzel Perryman, Miami (124)

LB_Kevin Pierre-Louis, Boston College (123)

CB_Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State (172)

CB_Ross Cockrell, Duke (145)

S_Anthony Harris, Virginia (142)

S_Jeremy Cash, Duke (129)


PK_Nate Freese, Boston College (124)

P_Pat O'Donnell, Miami (135)

SP_Ryan Switzer, North Carolina (155)




QB_Tajh Boyd, Clemson (132)

RB_Kevin Parks, Virginia (117)

RB_Duke Johnson, Miami (104)

WR_Michael Campanaro, Wake Forest (102)

WR_Allen Hurns, Miami (102)

WR_Tyler Boyd, Pittsburgh (100)

TE_Nick O'Leary, Florida State (126)

OT_Brandon Thomas, Clemson (104)

OT_Matt Patchan, Boston College (92)

OG_Laken Tomlinson, Duke (90)

OG_Brandon Linder, Miami (80)

C_Macky MacPherson, Syracuse (61)


DE_Jeremiah Attaochu, Georgia Tech (121)

DE_Kenny Anunike, Duke (98)

DT_Timmy Jernigan, Florida State (124)

DT_Derrick Hopkins, Virginia Tech (73)

LB_Telvin Smith, Florida State (105)

LB_Jack Tyler, Virginia Tech (93)

LB_Christian Jones, Florida State (83)

CB_Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech (91)

CB_Bashaud Breeland, Clemson (69)

S_Terrence Brooks, Florida State (97)

S_Tre Boston, North Carolina (86)


PK_Roberto Aguayo, Florida State (123)

P_A.J. Hughes, Virginia Tech (79)

SP_Jamison Crowder, Duke (80)




QB_Stephen Morris, Miami (24)

RB_Roderick McDowell, Clemson (85)

RB_Jerome Smith, Syracuse (53)

WR_Devin Street, Pittsburgh (80)

WR_Alex Amidon, Boston College (70)

WR_Kelvin Benjamin, Florida State (68)

TE_Braxton Deaver, Duke (51)

OT_Perry Simmons, Duke (80)

OT_Morgan Moses, Virginia (76)

OG_Tyler Shatley, Clemson (65)

OG_Josue Matias, Florida State (57)

C_Andy Gallik, Boston College (52)


DE_Kasim Edebali, Boston College (65)

DE_Mario Edwards Jr., Florida State (56)

DT_Jay Bromley, Syracuse (68)

DT_Luther Maddy, Virginia Tech (56)

LB_Steele Divitto, Boston College (78)

LB_Stephone Anthony, Clemson (73)

LB_Spencer Shuey, Clemson (57)

CB_Kyle Fuller, Virginia Tech (58)

CB_Brandon Facyson, Virginia Tech (53)

S_Durell Eskridge, Syracuse (53)

S_Nate Andrews, Florida State (44)


PK_Chandler Catanzaro, Clemson (69)

P_Will Monday, Duke (73)

SP_DeVon Edwards, Duke (57)