Tegean’s Coach of Year nod highlights all-conference selections

Aug. 10, 2014 @ 04:25 PM

The Vance/Granville County area was well-represented in the 3-A All-Carolina Conference selections for fall sports.
Northern Vance’s Razvan Tegean was named the Coach of the Year in soccer after guiding the Vikings to a third-place league finish, and subsequently, a state playoff appearance.
The soccer Player of the Year went to Cardinal Gibbons’ Ade Taiwo.
Southern Vance received the soccer Sportsmanship award.
Area players on the soccer first team from Northern were Ethan Byrom, Raymond West, Joseph Sharpe, Jaleel Seward, and Barrett Johnson (goalkeeper). Jamie Gomez, Will Gillespie, Luis Donaldo, and Tim Smith made it from J.F. Webb. Michael Lopez and Lorenzo Ortiz were Southern Vance’s first-team representatives.
Chris Pendergrass and Jake Wiggins were honorable mention selections for Northern. Jose Monroy was also an honorable mention selection for Southern.

5 area offensive linemen recognized
The area was best represented by the offensive line in football postseason awards.
Northern Vance’s Montel Clark and Preston Ellis were both named to the all-conference offensive line team along with Webb’s Zach Watkins and Gearl Majors. Taheed Evans also made it from Southern.
Cardinal Gibbons quarterback Shawn Stankavage was the conference Offensive Player of the Year and Chapel Hill defensive back Alex Duncan was the Defensive Player of the Year.
Tray Elam (Northern), Chris Henderson (Southern) and Corey Evans (Webb) each were named to the offensive backs team.
Shawn Henderson (Southern), Travon Scott (Northern) and Dashawn Skipwith (Webb) made the receivers team.
Southern’s Deon Smith was the only area selection on the defensive backs squad.
Devin Anderson (Northern), Reggie Hunter (Southern) and Bryan Smith (Webb) each were named to the linebackers team.
Southern led the defensive line unit with two selections in Jaquez Bullock and Xavier Gregory. Northern was represented by Jonas Simmons and Matt Hobgood also made the cut for Webb.
All-purpose defensive selections were Rufus Terry (Webb), Ben Stewart (Northern) and Sheldon Smith (Southern).

Southern places 2 on volleyball first team
Kiyanna Kearney and Megan Hight were both recognized as first team all-conference in volleyball. The two were joined on the first team by Webb’s Hayley Marshburn and Northern’s Emily Hilliard.
The volleyball Player of the Year was Haleigh Nelson of Cardinal Gibbons and Chapel Hill’s Sherry Norris was Coach of the Year. The Sportsmanship award went to Northern.
Area honorable mention selections from Webb were Stephanie Moyer, Caroline Joyner, Sarah Thomasson, and Catherine Pittard. Deja Hicks and Bryanna Simmons were Southern’s representatives while Northern’s Kara Reese was also selected to the honorable mention squad.

Vikings lead the way in tennis
Northern’s Erin Crews, Rachel Riddle and Mary Oakley were named to the all-conference first team in tennis. The three Vikings were joined on the first team by Southern’s Jametrice Glover.
Kristen Clifford was also an honorable mention selection for Northern.
Coach of the Year honors went to Cardinal Gibbons’ Andrew Tuttle. Devin Knors, also of Gibbons, was Player of the Year.