Second chance Bracket Breakdown contest now open; Edwards and Grissom tied for lead

Mar. 27, 2013 @ 10:01 PM

Jeff Edwards and Betty Grissom are tied atop The Dispatch's Bracket Breakdown online contest going into the Sweet 16.

Edwards has two brackets with 48 points each while Grissom has one.

Close behind are Casey Fly and Sammy Jo Fly with 47; Steve Osborne with 46; and seven others with 45 points.

The contest resumes with Thursday's games in the NCAA Tournament.

A second chance contest is now open, too, for everyone who wishes to take a shot at a new bracket with the Field of 16 teams that are left standing.

The second chance contest entries must be in before the games begin Thursday.

Bracket Breakdown, hosted by Athlon Sports and The Daily Dispatch, is available from our website or directly online at

Athlon is offering prizes in three categories: the best selections among the overall field of 64 teams, the second-chance bracket dedicated to the Sweet 16 and a "last chance" bracket devoted to the Final Four. The prizes are, respectively, an iPad Mini, iPod Touch and iPod Nano.

Dispatch participants will be playing against all of Athlon's players nationwide for those prizes. An ultimate grand prize of $100,000 is being offered for anyone who comes up with a perfect bracket.

Here at home, those playing Bracket Breakdown through the Dispatch website will be eligible for cash prizes. The participant doing the best with the field of 64 will win $75, with the second place awarding $30 and third, $15. In the field of 16, the Dispatch's second chance winner will get $30. The last chance field of 4 winner will get $20.

Athlon's rules will be used to decide the winners in each category. Those rules are available on the website and at the Dispatch office.

Here is how the rest of the Dispatch Top 20 looks in the Field of 64 contest:
7th place, tie: Debbie Bowes, Veronica Young, Robert O'Geary, John Bunch, Charles Grissom, William Felts and Sherry Felts; and 14th, tie: Celeste Lewis, Jeff Edwards, Steven Lassan, Cindy Abate, Wayne Spruill, Steven Fisher, George Norwood and Kayla Felts.