Simpson, Thompson receive league honors

Mar. 18, 2014 @ 09:25 PM

Two Tri-County coaches earned recognition in the 2-A Northern Carolina Conference postseason basketball awards.

Amy Simpson of Southern Vance is the girls coach of the year and Warren County’s Wanda Thompson is the boys co-coach of the year along with Gerald Melton of Bunn.

Simpson guided the Lady Raiders (22-3) to a perfect league season, clinching Southern’s first girls basketball regular season conference title since 2005.

Bunn’s Tainasha Vines earned player of the year honors after leading the conference in scoring, assists and steals while finishing second in rebounding.

Thompson’s Eagles (19-7) finished second in the boys standings, two games behind Bunn.

The Wildcats’ Deshawn High is the boys player of the year after leading the league in scoring average (23.1).

Southern’s Ty-Traveon Roberts was third in scoring (18.5) and led the conference in rebounding (10.6). The senior is the Raiders’ lone representative on the boys all-conference team, joining A.J. Alston and Charlie Williams of Warren County.

Breona Jones, Rashyda Burwell and Kechae Parker represent Southern on the girls all-conference team, joining Warren County’s Alexis French.


All Conference: Breona Jones (Southern Vance), Rashyda Burwell (Southern Vance), Kechae Parker (Southern Vance), Alexis French (Warren County), Precious Walker (Bunn), Tainasha Vines (Bunn), Charity Snelling (Franklinton), Diesha Davis (Franklinton), Cheyenne Wall (N.C. School of Science & Math), Caitlyn Robins (South Granville), Ariel Wilson (Durham School of the Arts)

Honorable mention: Carrington Matias (Southern Vance), Sierra Hicks (Warren County), Jodeci Boyd (Warren County), Sha’da Bullock (Warren County), Sameria Lynch (Warren County), Aaliyah Simmons (Bunn), Tia Branch (Bunn), Casandra Key (Bunn), Brianna Allen (Roanoke Rapids), Brooke Vincent (Roanoke Rapids), Dee Dee Jones (Roanoke Rapids), Cameron Patrick (South Granville), Nisah Darby (South Granville), Taneshia Wall (Franklinton), Alexus Coles (Franklinton), Christana Bright (DSA), Haylen Rigsbee (DSA), Talia Barnes (DSA), Jaida Freeman (DSA)

Ty-Traveon Roberts (Southern Vance), A.J. Alston (Warren County), Charlie Williams (Warren County), Deshawn High (Bunn), Jordan Lucas (Bunn), Aaron Simmons (Bunn), Quan Neal (Franklinton), Dejuan Walker (Roanoke Rapids), Marcus Mclean (South Granville), Justin Obasohan (NCSSM), Bryce Griffin (DSA), Michael Kearney (NCSSM)

Honorable mention: Johnny Hawkins (Southern Vance), Qualik Shearin (Southern Vance), Shawn Henderson (Southern Vance), Justin Fitts (Warren County), Dennis Waddell (Warren County), Tyler Thompson (Warren County), Kaelan Evans (Warren County), Malik Finley (Bunn), Tre Gaither (Franklinton), Fred Harlan (Franklinton), Romeo Debnam (Franklinton), D.J. Hinton (Franklinton), Marcus Jones (Roanoke Rapids), D.J. Jones (Roanoke Rapids), Kris Monroe (South Granville), Ricardo Bullock (South Granville), Harrison Lee (NCSSM), Russell Aryeetey (NCSSM), Markez Melvin (DSA), Tahrique Cameron (DSA), DeJon Rodgers (DSA)