N.C. Sports Hall of Fame announces inductees

May. 01, 2014 @ 11:59 PM

The N.C. Sports Hall of Fame’s 2014 inductees are Eddie Biedenbach, A.J. Carr, Bob Colvin, Randy Denton, Lee Gliarmis, Marshall Happer, Rodney Rogers, Bob Waters (posthumously), and Frank Weedon (posthumously).

They will be enshrined at the Hall’s 51st banquet May 9 in Raleigh.


BIEDENBACH — current UNC Wilmington assistant basketball coach; led UNC Asheville to 256 wins over 17 seasons with three NCAA Tournament appearances; four-time Big South Coach of the Year; three-year starter at N.C. State and assistant on Wolfpack’s 1974 national championship team; drafted by Los Angeles Lakers of NBA, New Jersey Nets of ABA and Dallas Cowboys of NFL.

CARR — sports writer (42 years at Raleigh News and Observer as well as stints at Wallace Enterprise, Greensboro Daily News); all-conference basketball star at Wallace-Rose Hill High School three times (1959-1961); all-conference in football; four-year starter on baseball team; member of Guilford College Hall of Fame.

COLVIN — led Robbinsville High School to 11 state football titles in 18 seasons (1966-84) with career mark of 177-57-2.

DENTON — starred at Raleigh’s Enloe High School before earning All-ACC honors in all three of his varsity basketball seasons (1969-71); named All-American as senior.

GLIARMIS — standout high school athlete in Wilson before making mark in youth coaching.

HAPPER — served as chief operating officer and commissioner of Men’s Tennis Council; played tennis at UNC after winning two high school state titles in Kinston.

ROGERS — ACC Player of the Year in 1993; drafted ninth in first round of 1993 NBA draft by Denver Nuggets; 12-year pro career with eight teams; NBA’s Sixth Man of the Year in 2000.

WATERS — head football coach at Western Carolina for 20 seasons, also serving as school’s athletic director for 15 seasons; led Catamounts to national championship appearance in 1983; considered NFL’s first “shotgun” quarterback with San Francisco 49ers.

WEEDON — longtime N.C. State sports information director and assistant athletic director; credited for promoting Roman Gabriel into first-team All-American status in 1960; created first university-affiliated regional radio network.