Northern, Webb to compete in Big Eight

Jan. 25, 2013 @ 03:03 PM

The 3-A Carolina Conference is no more.

When NCHSAA realignment goes into effect in the fall, Northern Vance and J.F Webb will compete in the 3-A Big Eight Conference, according to the Raleigh News and Observer.

The 2-A Northern Carolina Conference name will remain the same. Warren County will remain in the NCC, and Southern Vance is making the drop from 3-A back to the NCC.

The Big Eight will also include Cardinal Gibbons, Orange and Chapel Hill — all three were members of the 3-A Carolina league with Northern Vance, Webb and Southern Vance.

Joining Northern Vance, Webb, Gibbons, Chapel Hill, and Orange in the Big Eight are Cedar Ridge, Northwood and Southern Durham. Cedar Ridge and Northwood are moving up from the 2-A Carolina Conference and Southern Durham is dropping from the 4-A PAC-Six.

Warren County, Bunn, Roanoke Rapids, and Franklinton are each remaining in the NCC. Along with Southern Vance, Durham School of the Arts, N.C. Science and Math and South Granville will join the league. South Granville is making the move over from the 2-A Carolina Conference.