Opinion

Dec. 08, 2014 @ 03:46 PM

Editorial: Leaving his mark as judge

“Judges rule on the basis of law, not public opinion, and they should be totally indifferent to pressures of the time.”

-- Warren Burger, former U.S. Supreme Court chief justice


Dec. 08, 2014 @ 02:03 PM

Letters to the editor

  • Grateful for support
  • Robbing God

Dec. 08, 2014 @ 01:17 PM

Campbell: We need triage on Medicaid reform

Will North Carolina ever reform Medicaid? After more than two years, we aren’t much closer to reform solutions today than we were a year ago.


Dec. 06, 2014 @ 11:00 AM

Editorial: Keep your eyes on the road

A story by the Associated Press in Saturday’s edition reported that the Triad region of North Carolina saw more than a dozen traffic deaths in the span of a little more than a week in November.


Dec. 06, 2014 @ 09:42 AM

Warden’s insight on federal prisons

When the federal government began operating correctional facilities in 1930, the system housed 13,000 inmates. The Bureau of Prisons was responsible for the "management and regulation of all federal penal and correctional institutions." At that time, there were 11 federal prisons operating.


Dec. 05, 2014 @ 03:53 PM

Byrom: Leaders need to act on Northern Vance issues

As a parent, I support our collective concern for Northern Vance High School, its students, educators and the school’s important role for Vance County.


Dec. 05, 2014 @ 03:48 PM

Editorial: Good News & Good Neighbors

Members of the Bessie King Circle at Tabernacle United Methodist Church should be counted as Christmas angels. The group made it its mission to spread Christmas cheer to children by opening up the Santa Shoppe at New Hope Elementary School this week.


Dec. 05, 2014 @ 03:46 PM

Pitts: Understanding white privilege

What follows is for the benefit of one William James O'Reilly Jr. -- "Bill" to his fans.


Dec. 05, 2014 @ 09:43 AM

Dupuy: Darren Wilson isn’t the point

The officer shooting death of 18-year-old Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, last August has rallied Americans to their camps: The pro-Officer Darren Wilson vs. pro-unarmed black teenager.


Dec. 04, 2014 @ 01:57 PM

Editorial: Putting stop to bullying

Awareness about bullying and the immediate and long-term effects it can cause has been elevated in recent years.