Opinion

Mar. 26, 2015 @ 12:13 PM

Hood: Beware fiscal storms

When I tell audiences that I have always been a committed Marxist, I usually get a combination of disbelieving snorts and knowing chuckles. The cleverest response goes something like this: “I can believe you’ve been a committed Marxist, but I can’t believe they’d ever let you out!”


Mar. 25, 2015 @ 03:00 PM

Goldberg: Washington, D.C., comics: Dr. Ignoro vs. Bibi

White House Chief of Staff Denis McDonough recently spoke to J Street, a left-wing organization that fancies itself the headquarters of the tough-love-for-Israel crowd. J Street's critics would phrase it a bit differently. In a charitable mood, they'd say J Street is all about loving Israel to death.


Mar. 25, 2015 @ 01:49 PM

Page: Feeling that post-Monica remorse

A surprising contriteness has taken hold of Bill Maher and David Letterman about one of their favorite high-value targets: Monica Lewinsky.


Mar. 25, 2015 @ 01:49 PM

Editorial: Hope for fighting homelessness

A beautiful early spring afternoon seemed most appropriate for the official ribbon-cutting for Hope House, a residence program that aims to wrap its residents in support services to combat the complicated issue of homelessness.


Mar. 24, 2015 @ 03:56 PM

YMCA: Come celebrate Healthy Kids Day

Put more in, get more kid out! On Saturday, April 25, the Henderson Family YMCA is celebrating Healthy Kids Day, the Y’s national initiative to improve the health and well-being of kids and families.


Mar. 24, 2015 @ 11:19 AM

Albom: Forcing us to vote is hardly a cure-all

This past week, the president who is forcing Americans to have health care coverage suggested maybe they should be forced to vote.


Mar. 24, 2015 @ 10:21 AM

Martin: My trip to Norlina

Come on and go to Norlina with me!


Mar. 23, 2015 @ 12:54 PM

Stanford: What ‘Footloose’ has to teach us about Iran

The Republican opposition to striking a nuclear deal with Iran puzzled me, until my friend Truman explained that it’s exactly like the famous tractor scene from Kevin Bacon’s 1984 classic movie, “Footloose.”


Mar. 23, 2015 @ 12:15 PM

Campbell: Our own ‘House of Cards’

You don’t have to watch “House of Cards” on Netflix to witness political drama, intrigue and raw power plays. There’s all you want taking place in Raleigh in the separation of powers battle between the executive and legislative branches of state government. It’s ugly and could affect the way our state does business.


Mar. 22, 2015 @ 08:19 AM

Pitts: I've got your back, Ashley Judd!

Dear Ashley Judd: I guess this is a fan letter, though it is not written in praise of your work in movies like "Insurgent," "Divergent" or "Tooth Fairy." Rather, it's in response to the headlines you made last week when you called out Internet trolls who defamed you as a "b---h," a "whore," and a "c---" and threatened you with rape after you tweeted an opinion about an SEC basketball tournament.