Election filing period around corner

Jan. 17, 2014 @ 09:53 PM

A number of seats on the board of county commissioners and school board in Vance, Granville and Warren counties will be on the ballot this November.

The candidate filing period for 2014 elections is just three weeks away, beginning Feb. 10 at noon and ending Feb. 28 at noon. Early voting begins April 24 for the primary and ends May 3. The primary is scheduled for Tuesday, May 6. County canvasses are set for Tuesday, May 13.

The early voting for the fall general election begins Thursday, Oct. 23, and ends Saturday, Nov. 1. The general election, this year also known as the midterms, is Tuesday, Nov. 4. The county canvass follows on Nov. 14 and the state canvass on Nov. 25.

The terms for three Vance County commissioners and four Vance County school board members will expire this year.

Voters in Vance County will have to decide on the county commissioner seats for Districts 3, 4 and 7, as well as board of education seats for districts 1, 2, 6 and 7.

Gordon Wilder represents District 3, Dan Brummitt represents District 4 and Tommy Hester represents District 7 for the Vance County board of commissioners.

Gloria J. White represents District 1, Darlynn Oxendine represents District 2, Margaret Ellis represents District 6 and Ruth Hartness represents District 7 for the Vance County board of education.

The Granville County Board of Commissioners’ seats for districts 2, 6 and 7 will also expire this year. David Smith represents District 2, Tim Karan represents District 6 and Edgar Smoak represents District 7.

The Granville County board of education has terms expiring for Districts 1, 2 and 6. Toney Smith represents District 1, Brenda Dickerson-Daniel represents District 2 and Catherine “Rose” Lyon represents District 6.

In Warren County, three county commissioner seats for districts 1, 3 and 4 will expire, in addition to three school board seats for districts 1, 2 and 4.

Ulysses S. Ross represents District 1, Ruby Downey represents District 3 and Bertadean Baker represents District 4 among the Warren County commissioners.

Charles Grady resigned last year from his school board seat representing District 1. Lynne Lassiter represents District 2 and Calvin Jones represents District 4.

In Vance, Granville and Warren counties the sheriff, clerk of court and register of deeds will be on the ballot this November.

The district attorney’s position, representing Vance, Granville, Warren and Franklin counties, is also on the ballot.

Residents in the Tri-County will also vote on midterm state and national races this election season.

Contact the writer at smansur@hendersondispatch.com.