Bowman named to EDC post

Apr. 10, 2014 @ 02:28 PM

WARRENTON — Kenneth Bowman has been appointed economic development director for Warren County.

Bowman, of Dry Fork, Va., was named at the Monday meeting of the Warren County commissioners. He begins Wednesday.

Bowman most recently served as director of economic development for Pittsylvania County in Virginia.

He is a veteran of the U.S. Army and the Virginia Army National Guard, with 32 years of service, including a tour of duty in Vietnam. In the military, he held a variety of positions, from platoon leader to brigade executive officer.

His annual salary will be $73,000. The commissioners also approved an out-of-state relocation reimbursement allowance up to $2,500.

On recommendation of the Kerr-Tar Regional Council of Governments, the board adopted a resolution related to the coal ash spill into the Dan River on Feb. 2. The commissioners support immediate remediation of water contamination, removal of waste from the river, streams and creeks affected by the spill, and removal of coal combustion waste in all waste ponds in the Dan River Basin.

The board adopted a resolution approving terms for installment purchase financing of seven vehicles and one ambulance at a total cost of $290,553 for a three-year term. The contact was awarded to BB&T at a tax-exempt rate of 1.57 percent and a taxable rate of 2.42 percent.

The commissioners adopted a resolution declaring Marshfield Mobile Home as surplus property and authorized the county manager to dispose of it by conveyance, sale or auction.

The board authorized the staff to work with private property owner John T. Harris, II, Frontier Natural Gas and the county attorney to determine how Warren County can work within the confines of water and sewer easements to assist the company’s efforts to install a gas line to a property in the Wise area.

The commissioners made the following appointments or reappointments:

• Voluntary Agricultural Districting Advisory Board: Earnest Boyd Harris, Gary Holtzmann, B.J. Wright, Henry Pulley Jr., Victor Hunt and Henry Travis Pulley Sr. • Inez Volunteer Fire Department Tax Service District Board: Ernest Boyd Harris.

• Macon Volunteer Fire Department Tax Service District Board: Peter Thomas Hight, Mary Eliza Turner, Warren Peete Hilliard, Thomas Peete Wagner and Glenn Earl McGee.

The commissioners approved two proclamations. In conjunction with the National Day of Prayer, they designated May 1 as a day of prayer in Warren County.

They proclaimed April 27-May 4 as Warren County Soil and Water Conservation and Stewardship Week.

In addition, the board adopted a resolution recognizing April 10 as a day to celebrate volunteerism in Warren County.

The board went into closed session to consider attorney-client privileged information. When the commissioners returned to open session, they adjourned.

Contact the writer at