Granville County school board names top officials

Jun. 23, 2014 @ 10:05 PM

OXFORD — The Granville County Board of Education spent most of a special meeting in closed session Monday evening before approving administrative assignments for the upcoming school year.

After two hours and 20 minutes of closed session, the board returned to open session and approved administrative assignments for the 2014-2015 school year.

Michael Myrick was named assistant superintendent for curriculum and instruction and student services. He previously held the position of Director of Innovative Learning.

Gus Gillespie, principal of Butner-Stem Elementary School, was tapped to be assistant superintendent for operations, which includes human resources and auxiliary services. He will be replaced at Butner-Stem by Tina Clayton.

Reginald Brooks will become principal of J.F. Webb High School, replacing Calvin Timberlake, who will become director of innovative services.

Jackie Harris was designated to be principal of Granville Early College High School, moving from the principalship of Northern Granville Middle School. She will be replaced there by Ashley Lewis.

Tonya Thomas will be director of middle schools, Beth Cook will be director testing and accountability, and Jennifer Carraway will be director of student services.

Lauren Allen was named principal of Butner-Stem Middle School.

New elementary school principals include Mary Ann Crews at Mt. Energy, Erin Robbins at Tar River, Michael Allen at Joe Toler-Oak Hill and Sheila Atkins at Wilton.

Helen Lindsey will become principal of the Center for Innovative Learning.

New assistant principals will be Kimberly McNeil at Mt. Energy and Blondina Hawley at Webb.

Gina Cunningham was named interim director of exceptional children and behavior specialist.

After approving the assignments, the board adjourned.


Contact the writer at