STEM program grows into school

Jul. 21, 2014 @ 02:47 PM

The Early High School STEM program will have its own administrators next year.

The Vance County Board of Education assigned Rey Horner as principal and Iris Dethmers as assistant principal Thursday to lead the science, technology, engineering and math-focused school officially recognized by the state earlier this year.

The program’s rigorous science, math, English and social studies curricula — designed for students in sixth through eighth grades — started at Northern Vance in 2012. Last year, the program housed about 100 sixth-graders and 100 seventh-graders.

Superintendent Ronald Gregory said personnel changes have been made across the district.

The board approved Justin Wrenn’s and Kimberly Simms’ new assistant principal positions at E.M. Rollins Elementary School. Wrenn was promoted from the school’s third-grade teacher, and Simms was transferred from Eaton-Johnson Middle School. Simms will leave the district in August.

Jacqueline Crosson will vacate her position as 21st century director at Pinkston Street Elementary School to become assistant principal there and at New Hope Elementary School. She will replace Anne Hancock, who transferred from her assistant principal duties at New Hope to E.O. Young Elementary School. Hancock is also the assistant principal at Carver Elementary School.

Joy Suther, who was assistant principal at E.O. Young, is now an assistant principal at Dabney Elementary School.

James Realon and Teri Scott were promoted from high school teachers in the district to assistant principals at Northern Vance High School. They replace Dennis Carrington and Jackson Olsen, who resigned in June.

Former middle school teacher McShell Edmonds-Evans and new hire Kerry Morrison are new assistant principals at Southern Vance High School. They replaced Horner and John Russick, who left the district.

Nowell Brooks was hired as assistant principal of Henderson Middle School to replace David Cooper, who is now assistant principal at Aycock Elementary School. Kristen Boyd was approved as principal at Aycock Elementary School.

Gregory said assistant principals will be in charge of curriculum review and instruction next year, making sure the schools reach their goals.

“We are on track to do some wonderful things,” he said.

In all, there were 20 employee recommendations, 13 resignations and eight promotions unanimously accepted by the board.

The district will have one retiree this year: Cora Boyd, who was the counselor at Henderson Middle School.


Contact the writer at


[Editor's note: This story was updated to reflect the following corrections:

• Kimberly Simms was approved as an assistant principal at E. M. Rollins Elementary, effective in July, and her resignation, effective in August, was accepted.
• Joy Suther was approved as an assistant principal at Dabney Elementary. Michael Putney remains the principal.
• James Realon and Teri Scott replaced Dennis Carrington and Jackson Olsen at Northern Vance High School. Carrington and Olson resigned in June.
• Kristen Boyd was approved as principal at Aycock Elementary School.
This Dispatch regrets the errors and any resulting inconveniences.]