Commissioners will need to make two appointments

Feb. 24, 2014 @ 07:36 PM

Directors of the board for the Henderson-Vance County Economic Development Commission are expected to wait until the March 17 meeting to act on two vacancies.

Sam Watkins Jr., chairman for more than 30 years, died unexpectedly on Saturday. Paul Harris, the vice chairman, issued a resignation letter earlier last week.

“Right now, it’s too early to talk about that out of respect for Sam,” said Stuart Litvin, the director of the EDC.

Litvin said the board of directors elects the executive committee, which consists of the chairman, vice chairman, secretary and treasurer.

Andrea Harris, of the N.C. Institute of Minority Economic Development, is the secretary and treasurer.

“There is usually a nominating committee formed prior to June,” Litvin said. “In June, they make a recommendation to board of directors, and, in July, the board votes on those officers.”

The board comprises nine voting members, including six seats appointed by the Vance County Board of Commissioners and three appointed by the Henderson City Council.

Litvin said the county appointed both Harris and Watkins. Commissioners are responsible for selecting replacements.

The next meeting of the county commissioners is Monday, March 10, at which time Jerry Ayscue, the county manager, said commissioners would consider the vacancies.

The other county appointees on the board are Tom Church, John Foster, Terry Garrison and Chuck Teeter. Garrison is a commissioner.

The city appointees are Harris, Jim Kearney Sr. and Robert Herford. Kearney is a councilman.

Ayscue said anyone interested in becoming a member of the board of directors can fill out an application, which is available at the county administration building.

Once applications are submitted, Ayscue said Vance commissioners will take a vote to select the new members.

“We will go to board of commissioners, and they will make the final decision,” Ayscue said.

Contact the writer at