Despite storm closing boards of election, first week of filing closes strong

Feb. 15, 2014 @ 03:14 AM

The first week of filing came to a close Friday, and despite the winter storm closing Tri-County and state boards of election, a good number of candidates threw their hats into the ring.

Wilkesboro resident Heather Grant joined fellow Republicans Mark Harris of Raleigh and Ted Alexander of Shelby in seeking the U.S. Senate seat currently held by Kay Hagan.

G.K. Butterfield filed to hang onto his District 1 seat in the U.S. House of Representatives. He is currently unopposed. Cary Democrat Brenda Cleary filed for the District 13 seat held by U.S. Rep. George Holding, who has not yet filed.

Republican Richard Scott of Scotland Neck filed to battle incumbent Angela R. Bryant, a Democrat, for her state Senate District 4 seat. As of Friday, no one sought out Sen. Floyd B. McKissick Jr.’s District 20 Senate seat.

Roxboro resident Larry Yarborough, a Republican, is seeking to represent District 2; currently, state Rep. Winkie Wilkins holds that role, but he has said he will not seek re-election. Henderson Democrat Nathan Baskerville filed to hold onto his state House District 32 seat.

Oxford Democrats Mike Waters and Cindy Bostic, an assistant district attorney, each filed to seek the District 9 district attorney’s office.

Henderson resident Judge Henry Banks filed for his District 9B District Court position.

In Vance County, the following candidates filed for office this week: Sheriff Peter White; District 3 county commissioner Gordon Wilder; incumbent Thomas Hester Jr. and A. Scott Hughes, both for District 7 county commissioner; school board District 2 incumbent Darlynn Oxendine; incumbent Gloria Jefferson White and Carolyn Faines, both for school board in District 1; Deborah Finch for clerk of court; and Carolyn Pecora for register of deeds.

In Granville County, Sheriff Brindell Wilkins, Jamye Hughes and Ronald M. Smith all filed for sheriff. George Case Ritchie filed for the District 2 county commission seat. School board members Toney Smith, representing District 1, and Brenda Dickerson-Daniel, representing District 2, filed to hold onto their seats.

Democrats C.F. Knott and Yancey Washington both filed for clerk of Superior Court.

In Warren County, several candidates filed this week: Sheriff Johnny Williams, Tare “T” Davis for District 2 county commissioner, Gary Morgan for District 3 county commissioner and Richard Hunter for clerk of Superior Court.

The filing period runs until noon Friday, Feb. 28.

More information can be obtained by calling the Vance County board at (252) 492-3730, the Granville board at (919) 693-2515 and the Warren board at (252) 257-2114.

Contact the writer at Follow her on Twitter at @herding_stets.