New year beginning for county leadership

Dec. 01, 2012 @ 04:00 PM

Newly-elected commissioner Archie Taylor will be sworn into office during Monday night’s meeting of Vance County commissioners.
Taylor will be taking the place of Tim Pegram, the longest standing county commissioner in the state, who gave 48 years of service to Vance County.
“The commissioners gave Tim Pegram a retirement ceremony this past Wednesday,” said Terry Garrison, current chairman of the Vance County Board of Commissioners. “We acknowledged him and recognized him at that time.”
Garrison will give up his seat as chairman Monday night.
“During the regular session we will elect the new chairman and vice chairman of our board,” Garrison said. “We will make other annual appointments for the county.”
A re-appointment of three members to the Vance County Fire Commission will include: Mike Coghill as chairman, Deborah Brown and Ron Jones.
Two public hearings are scheduled, the first of which will come from Steve Winstead with the N.C. Department of Transportation. He will address the board regarding a secondary road program.
The second public hearing will be in reference to a financing agreement. There will be a request of approval from the commissioners to enter into an installment financing agreement for the purpose of renovating, improving and equipping various public school facilities in the county.
Other matters for discussion during Monday night’s meeting will include committee reports and recommendations, a report from the county manager, other business as deemed necessary and matters of the commissioners as the water district board if needed.

Contact the writer at