Period for declarations opens in Warren County

Jun. 29, 2013 @ 05:23 PM

Municipal election filing begins in the Warren County communities of Warrenton, Norlina and Macon at noon on Friday.

Those wishing to serve in office must be registered voters residing in the respective municipality. All filings are at the county’s Board of Elections office, located at 309 North Main Street in Warrenton.

The filing period closes at noon on Friday, July 19. The office is open from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. each day and can be contacted for more information at (252) 257-2114.

In all three communities, the seats for mayor will be on the ballot. All town commissioners are on the ballot in Norlina and Macon, and three of seven in Warrenton will be in the election.

In Warrenton, incumbents who seats are up for election are mayor Walter Gardner and commissioners Kimberly Harding, Jules Banzer and Mary Hunter.

In Macon, the incumbents are mayor Rob Evans and commissioners Wanda Carroll, David Harris, Benny Hilliard, Allen Hobgood and Glenn Riggan.

In Norlina, the incumbents are mayor Dwight Pearce and commissioners Scooter Edwards, Bill Harris, Jimmy Overby, Sonny Peoples and Lou Stultz.