Adopt-A-Highway groups honored at Vance commissioners meeting

Jan. 21, 2014 @ 09:53 AM

Groups were recently recognized for their participation in the N.C. Adopt-A-Highway Program in 2013 by the Vance County Appearance Commission at the January meeting of the Vance County Board of Commissioners.

The groups responsible for cleaning up trash and debris on a two-mile stretch of roadway.

At the meeting, each group received a certificate and each group member received an auto window decal proclaiming their involvement with the N.C. Adopt-A-Highway Program.

Groups honored at the meeting included: In Memory of James E. Franklin, Franklin Road, led by Kathy Faulkner; In Memory of Tee Roberson, Walter Bowen Road, led by Carolyn Roberson; In Honor of Lunsford B. Brown II, Rice Road, led by Deborah Brown; the West Hills/West Creek/158 Community Watch, U.S. 158 Bypass, led by Danny Wilkerson; The Ladies Club and Auxiliary, Wildlife Road/Townsville Landing, led by Susan Clegg; In Memory of Maggie Smith, Dick Smith Road/Ries Finch Road, led by William Satterwhite; In Memory of Donna Franklin Morris, Vincent Hoyle Road, led by Thomas Franklin; and Rehoboth United Methodist Church, Old Watkins Road, led by Jane Woodside.

For more information about the N.C. Adopt-A-Highway Program, visit or call the N.C. Department of Transportation at (800) 331-5864.