Awards presented at Kerr-Tar banquet

Jan. 20, 2013 @ 02:39 AM


The Kerr-Tar Regional Council of Governments recently held its annual awards banquet at The Warren County Armory and Civic Center in Warrenton. Walter M. Gardner Jr., Chairman of the Kerr-Tar Board of Directors’, presided over the meeting, which hosted an attendance of 145.

New officers were installed for the 2012-2013 year as follows:

• Chairman — Bryan Pfohl, Granville County, at-large

• Vice chairman — Jimmy B. Clayton, Person County, Person County commissioner

• Treasurer — Elic Senter, Town of Franklinton, mayor of Franklinton

Presentations were then made for the following awards:

• Outstanding Region K Council of Governments’ Board Member — Jimmy B. Clayton, Person County (presentation by Lou Stultz, Town of Norlina)

• Outstanding Region K Municipal Elected Official — Thomas Lane, mayor of Butner (presentation by Merilyn Newell, on behalf of Samuel B. Spencer of Roxboro)

• Outstanding Region K County Elected Official — Hubert L. Gooch, Granville County commissioner (presented by Don Lancaster, Franklin County Board of Commissioners)

• Outstanding City or County Manager (administrator) — Thomas Mercer, City of Creedmoor (presentation by Tommy Marrow, manager, Town of Butner)

• Outstanding City or County Clerk to the Board — Kristen King, Franklin County (presented by Bob Williford, on behalf of Donna Hosch)

• Regional Star Award — J. Timothy Pegram, Vance County (presentation by Danny Wright)