Granville chamber accepting nominations for John Penn Citizen Award

Dec. 12, 2013 @ 09:35 AM

The recognition committee at the Granville County Chamber of Commerce is accepting nominations for the 2014 John Penn Citizen Award.

Named after Granville County’s signer of the Declaration of Independence, the award is given out each year to recognize a person for outstanding service to the community.

Nomination forms were attached to the November and December issues of the chamber’s monthly newsletter. Forms may also be obtained at a chamber office or may be downloaded from

All nominations are due by Jan. 6.

The award will be presented during the annual membership banquet on Jan. 27 at the Vance-Granville Community College Civic Center.

Past recipients have included Dr. Joseph Colson, Robinette Husketh, Hubert Gooch, Rev. G.C. Hawley, Gladys Satterwhite, Hugh Currin Sr., Rev. Harrison Simons, Tom Speed, John Mackie, Dr. Roy Noblin, Dr. David Noel, John Nelms, J.J. Medford, Mildred Jenkins, Tom Johnson, Virginia Tuck, L. Clement Yancey, Nancy Darden, Leonard Dunn, Carlene Fletcher, Hubert Cox, Leonard Peace Sr., Marshall Tanner, Harold Sherman, Boyce Harvey, Paul Kiesow, Johnsie Cunningham, Stan Fox, Doan and Bette Laursen, Dr. John Hardy Jr., L.C. Adcock and Jim Crawford.