Optimist Club honored at chamber banquet

Mar. 04, 2014 @ 10:18 AM

The Henderson Optimist Club recently received the Shining Moment in Education Award for 2013-2014 at the Henderson-Vance Chamber of Commerce’s annual banquet.

The club has been a longtime supporter of Vance County Schools. The club sponsors the Save Our Kids water safety classes for all second-grade students in the county; the annual Attend and Win and Read and Win student recognition programs; an annual student essay and oratorical contest; and multiple student scholarships funded by community activities and concession booth operations at Northern Vance High School.

John Pecora, club president and retired educator, accepted the award at the banquet.

The award presenters included David Westbrook, principal at Carver Elementary School; Kirsten Boyd, assistant principal at Aycock Elementary School; Bonita Williams, a Clarke Elementary School teacher; and Dr. Jeff Arthurs, athletic director at Northern Vance High School.