School award nominees are announced

Oct. 03, 2013 @ 09:34 AM


Vance County Schools have announced the nominations for this year’s top principal, assistant principal and teacher.

The awards will be presented Nov. 5 at the Vance-Granville Community College Civic Center.

Nominees for the principal award are John Hargrove of Henderson Middle, Michael Putney of Dabney Elementary, Crystal Richardson of Clarke Elementary, Laura Rigsbee of Aycock Elementary, Harold Thompson Jr. of New Hope Elementary and Larry Webb of Eaton-Johnson Middle.

The assistant principals nominated are Donna Blakebrough of Henderson Middle, Kristen Boyd of Aycock Elementary and Angela Pugh of Henderson Middle.

The teachers nominated are Kathleen Arrington of Clarke Elementary, Jeff Arthurs of Northern Vance High, Ruby Booth of Pinkston Street Elementary, Cindy Carey of Young Elementary, Jamie Herberger of Early College High, David Jennings of Southern Vance High, Danilo Morales of Western Vance High, Jennifer Newton of Yancey Elementary, Jessica Norwood of Zeb Vance Elementary, Cristen Saunders of Carver Elementary, Donna Smith of Aycock Elementary, Laura Stewart of Rollins Elementary, Michael West of Eaton-Johnson Middle, Gail Wilson of Henderson Middle, Sandra Woltz of Dabney Elementary and Robin Young of New Hope Elementary.

School administrators, teachers and retired educators form the panel for interviews and selections.