Webb students participate in speech contest

Jan. 05, 2013 @ 08:14 PM


The J. F. Webb High School winners of the Veterans of Foreign Wars Voice of Democracy Speech Contest for Butner-Creedmoor Post No. 10777 were honored at an awards presentation Dec. 5. Commander Dallas Champion made the presentation to third place winner Judia I. Watson, second place winner Chasity H. Miller and first place winner Rashamgl T. Hobgood, with Senior Vice Commander Robert L. Lane accompanying them. 11 other participants were recognized for their Voice of Democracy entries: Branson Isley, Hailey Campbell, Shanika Burrus, Lilly Weary, Brianj Messner, Alexander Noblin, Elijah McDonald, Ashanti Davis, Ashley Royster and Charlie Vaughn. All of the participants received certificates and monetary gifts. The top three winners also received Voice of Democracy medals.