Northern Vance students achieve certification in Microsoft programs

Mar. 18, 2013 @ 07:53 PM


A total of 67 students at Northern Vance High School completed requirements for certification by the Microsoft Information Technology Academy for computer applications as part of their academic coursework in the Vance County Schools’ Career and Technical Education Program. Upon graduation, this certification will make each of them more employable.

High school students achieving this industry recognized certification gain real world technology skills. Consisting of web-based modules and instruction, the academy allows students to learn Microsoft computer programs, such as Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint, within the classroom and at home, at a pace comfortable for them. Sherrie Evans Bailey and Tonya Williams instructed students attempting to earn this certification.

Students may earn certification in Microsoft Office 2010 Word or PowerPoint or both. In addition, three students — Steven Burnett, Shaquashia Hester and Ryan Toone — also completed requirements for Excel certification through course work taught by Bailey.

Some of the students completed the requirements during the past fall semester while others did so during the 2011-2012 school year.

Niya Hayes and Tavin Moore earned certification in Microsoft Word. Those achieving certification in PowerPoint were Nohemi Morales, Dai’jon Branch, Jabarri Davis, Arnold Bullock, Brianna Harris, Iesha Harris, Tyler Brown, Makayla Welborn, Briana Austin, Travis Heath, Jada Wimbush, Anait Escamilla Rodriguez, Alfreda Kingsberry, Eric Lemmond, Jamel Kearney, Hannah White, Andrea Harley, Brendon McKinney, TreLorenz Evans, Jaquan Baskerville, Taliyah Jones and Rebecca Bass.

Students completed work for certification in both applications were: Ahmed Ali, Rashawnna Blackwell, Tyree Green, Shawn Miles, Stanton Parham, Kiya Russell, Anecia Wilkerson, Toby Bradsher, Dajane Johnson, Brenda Arias Garcia, Alexandria Harris, Antonio Nowell, Kywaun Taylor, Kudaija Hurling, Amber Boyd, Tiffany Hawkins, Latricha Parks, Lauren Swilley, Alexis Wilkerson, Tianna Wimbush, Timothy Daye, Evan Fulcher, Ciyana Johnson, Travon Scott, Desha Terry, David Watson, Niya Williams, Jimmy Adams, Michelle Waddell, Tristen Lynch Kiara Mosley, Angelica Hanks, Matthew Britt, Avery Hilliard, Caitlyn Gorman, Rodney Hicks, Joshua Boone, Brian Martinez, Synnovia Alexander and Rodernick Hanks.