Gamma Chi Chapter visited by 3 state officials

Feb. 09, 2013 @ 08:04 PM

Warren County’s Gamma Chi chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International recently held a meeting at Enterprise Baptist Church in Littleton. Chapter president Nancy Tunstall welcomed members and guests. Dinner was served. A moment of silence was held for the passing of charter member Betsy Little.

Several members were recognized for various accomplishments. Retiree Mary Ann Johnson was presented a rose. Melba Johnston, a charter member, recently eclipsed 40 years as a member. Harriet Banzet (35 years), Sue Skinner (35), Janis Meek (30), Elaine Coleman (25), Lou Ann Bender (20), Jeffrey Evans (15), Diane Reavis (15), Ginny Bernard (10), Mary Brodie Raiford (10), Debra Clayton (5), Renee Mizelle (5) and Patricia Williamson (5) all received certificates from Tunstall for their tenure.

Sylvia Alston, Banzet, Coleman, Connie King, Nancy Tunstall and Shirley White all qualified for the Gamma Chi Member Excellence Award for attendance, participation, financial contributions and other attributes over the past year. Dr. Janis Meek, Awards Chair, presented them with an award certificate and a rose pin.

Johnston, the first historian, and Mary Catherine Harris, the current historian, were given special rose award pins.

Melanie Burnette, Betty Anne Shearin, Angela Vaughan, Sharon West and Patricia Williamson were acknowledged as National Board Certified teachers. Also, Dr. Sylvia Alston, Dr. Janis Meek and Dr. Louise Mitchum were recognized for earning doctoral degrees. Members congratulated King for her upcoming recognition at the Women of Warren event.

In the business session, Shirley White, treasurer, reported on the finances. Members updated chapter rules and approved a strategic action plan for the 2012-2014 biennium.

At that point, a flash mob, lead by Pat Taylor, Eta State (NC) first vice president, performed and danced to “New Attitude” by Patti LaBelle.

Schools for Africa and Support for Early-career Educators, two international projects, were designated for special attention in committee reports.

Mary Brodie Raiford, educational excellence chair, introduced guest speaker Linda Little, Eta State Delta Kappa Gamma president. Little helped members critique the chapter itself. She was presented with a rose, a stained glass Delta Kappa Gamma logo rose and a Gamma Chi tote bag by Tunstall. Sharon Frazier, Eta State Leadership Development chair, was also in attendance.

The meeting ended with a raffle, proceeds of which were to be donated to three community libraries: Warren Memorial Library, Norlina Library and Littleton Library.