Southern Vance welcomes 75 inductees into National Honor Society

Apr. 20, 2013 @ 06:51 PM


A special ceremony was held in the cafeteria at Southern Vance High School on April 2 for 75 students as they were inducted into the school’s chapter of the National Honor Society.

Current chapter members participated during various portions of the program. Jametrice Glover presented the welcome. The poem, “If,” was recited by Arthia Harris. The qualities of scholarship, service, leadership and character (important traits to the society) were highlighted by Alexandra Bercik, Leah Woodlief, Morgan Richardson and Annie Bullock.

Principal Stephanie Ayscue, along with teachers Jennifer Howard and Sandra Wiggins, serving as chapter advisors, presented a certificate to each inductee.

Afterward, the group recited the “National Honor Society Pledge” in unison: “I pledge to maintain my high scholastic standing, to hold as fundamental and worthy an untarnished character, to endeavor intelligently and courageously to be a leader and to give of myself freely in service to others. In so doing, I shall prove myself worthy of a place in the National Honor Society.”

In alphabetical order, the following students were inducted: Victoria Allgood, Marquez Alston, Mirna Baselios, Christina Baskerville, Shannon Briles, Ryan Burnette, Jonathan Carlock, Alex-Clarshiaa Champ, Elizabeth Clayborne, Kenisha Closs, Malika Davis, Moriah Davis, Tannon Davis, Arnold Diaz, Trakia Fields, Stanton Fields, Brianna Fuller, Christopher Fuller, Emonee Glover, Tamara Glover, Jasmine Greene, Greg Grissom, Kendal Grissom, Miguel Guiterrez, Deja Hargrove, Jared Harrell, La’Asia Harris, Kamara Henderson, Megan Henderson, William Henderson, Julian Hernandez, Abby Hope, Kaylan Hoyle, Vincent Hudgins, Kiyanna Kearney, Kristen Lawrence, Nayely Ledesma, Cody Long, Ashlyn Matthews, Dominique McClean, Ark’Quan McCord, Brandon Medlin, Marykey Mendoza, Destinee Murphy, Stenesa Neal, Joshlyn Norman, Lorenzo Ortiz, Kavoris Perry, Steven Pierce, Brenda Renteria, Kyle Roberson, Christian Rodriguez, Ana Salazar-Jimenez, Mikayla Sellers, Tanizha Shearin, Jamie Short, Kendra Simmons, Deon Smith, Sheldon Smith, Joshua Strother, Elizabeth Tapia, Jade Thompson, Mirella Trejo, Tyla Turrentine, Terrell Warren, Justin Williford, Emily Wilkins, Anissa Williams, John-Na Williams, Destiny Williamson, Michelle Wunderlich, Alvonte Yancey, Shaleshia Young, Taylor Young and Tanya Zuniga.