Local sorority chapter conducts annual awards program

May. 11, 2013 @ 06:39 PM


Members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Nu Chi Omega Chapter of Oxford/Henderson, were recognized for the hours of service over the previous year during its annual awards program recently.

All of the volunteer work, mentoring, work in the soup kitchen and gardening added up to 2,583 service hours to the community.

Diane Evans earned both the Officer of the Year and Sorority of the Year awards. Other award recipients included Iris Allen, Tertia Allen, Sarah Baskerville, Jennette Boyd, Vivian Bullock, Teresa Gilreath, Glenda Gooch, Toni Rankin-Green, Jackie Harris, LaRhonda Harris, Patricia Hester, Lillie Moss, Dorothy Perry, Monica Satterwhite, Connetta Terry, Carolyn White, Nekisha Williams and Phyllis Williams.